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Why was the license
suspended?

§ 63-1-51. Grounds for revocation
or suspension

m The commissioner shall forthwith revoke the
license of any person for a period of one (1) year
upon recetving a duly certified record of each
person's convictions of any of the following
offenses when such conviction has become
tinal:




(a) Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(b) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;

(c) Failure to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in event of a motor vehicle accident
resulting in the death or personal injury of another;

(d) Perjury or the willful making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the department under this article or
under any other law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles;

(e) Conviction, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon three (3) charges of reckless driving committed within a
period of twelve (12) months;

(f) Contempt for failure to pay a fine or fee or to respond to a summons or citation pursuant to a charge of a
violation of this title.

Out of compliance with order for support

m (3) In addition to the reasons specified in this
section, the commissioner shall be authorized to
suspend the license issued to any person
pursuant to this article for being out of

compliance with an order for support, as
defined in Section 93-11-153.

(e) “Out of compliance with an order for support” means that the obligor is
at least thirty (30) days in arrears or delinquent in making payments in full for
current support, or in making periodic payments on a suppott arrearage.

Miss. Code. Ann. § 93-11-153 (West)
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License Suspension Program

The License Suspension Program s a federally mandated program to suspend individual licenses fro non-nayment of child support

> Any occupation and/or professional license regulated by the state of Mississippi

Suspension Program

> Business licenses
> Alcoholic Beverages licenses

> Driver's licenses

> Hunting/Fishing licenses

License Suspension Process

> Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS) runs a database search to match a list of delinquent parents to a list of
licensees.

> MDHS then sends a notice to the licensees that have meet the criteria.

> The delinquent parents then have 90 days to pay the arrears or the work out a payment plan.

> If the delinquent parent does nothing or can not reach an agreed payment schedule within the 90 day pericd, then a notice is
sent to the license agency to suspend the license.

Due Proce:

A licensee may request a review by MDHS on issues of correct personal identification and the state of delinquency. License suspensions may be appealed to the Chancery
Court.

Child Support, SNAP/TANF and Aging Services Call Center
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Miss. Code Ann. § 63-1-57

§ 63-1-57. Driving after suspension or revocation

Any person whose license issued pursuant to this article or driving privilege as a nonresident has been
canceled, suspended or revoked as provided in this title or in Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case may
be, and who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while such license or privilege is
canceled, suspended or revoked, is guilty of a misdemeanor and upen conviction shall be punished by
imprisonment for not less than two (2) days or more than six (6) months. There may be imposed in addition
thereto a fine of not less than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) for
each offense.

Credits
Laws 1938, Ch. 143, § 33; Laws 1985, Ch. 376, § 22; Laws 1988, Ch. 563, § 2; Laws 1996, Ch. 507, § 13, eff.
July 1, 1996.

m Up to Six Months in Jail

Miss. Code Ann. § 63-11-40

§ 63-11-40. Driving after suspension or revocation

Any person whose driver's license, or driving privilege has been cancelled, suspended or revoked under the
provisions of this chapter and who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways, streets or public roads of this
state, while such license or privilege is cancelled, suspended or revoked, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and
upon conviction shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than forty-eight (48) hours nor more than six (6)
months, and fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).

The commissioner of public safety shall suspend the driver's license or driving privilege of any person convicted
under the provisions of this section for an additional six (6) months. Such suspension shall begin at the end of
the original cancellation, suspension or revocation and run consecutively.

Credits
Laws 1983, Ch. 466, § 11, eff. July 1, 1983.

Minimum 48 hours in jail [but can

be suspended]
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§ 63-15-69. Prohibited conduct and
sanctions

m 1) Where any person fails to report an accident
as required in Section 63-15-9, in addition to any
other penalties prescribed by law, the
department shall suspend the license of the
person failing to make such report, or the
nonresident's operating privilege of such person,
until such report has been filed and for such
further period not to exceed thirty days as the
department may fix.

Miss. Code. Ann. § 63-15-69

(3) Any person whose license or nonresident's
operating privilege has been suspended or
revoked under this chapter, and who, during
such suspension or revocation drives any motor
vehicle upon any highway or knowingly permits
any motor vehicle owned by such person to be
operated by another upon any highway, except
as permitted under this chapter, shall be fined
not more than five hundred dollars ($§500.00) or
imprisoned not exceeding six months, or both.
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§ 63-15-35. Suspension or revocation,
proving responsibility

m (1) Whenever the department, under any law of this
state, suspends or revokes the license of any person
upon recetving record of a conviction or a forfeiture
of bail, the department shall also suspend the
registration for all motor vehicles licensed in the name
of such person. However the department shall not
suspend such license, unless otherwise required by
law, if such person has previously given or shall
immediately give and thereafter maintain proof of
financial responsibility with respect to all motor
vehicles licensed by such person.

Miss. Code. Ann. § 63-15-27

Civil judgment debtor

m (1) Upon the receipt of a certified copy of a
judgment, the department shall forthwith
suspend the license and registration and any
nonresident's operating privilege of any person
against whom such judgment was rendered,
except as hereinafter otherwise provided in this
section and in Section 63-15-33.
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m (2) If the judgment creditor consents in writing,
in such form as the department may prescribe,
that the judgment debtor be allowed license or
nonresident's operating privilege, the same may
be allowed by the department, in its discretion,
for six months from the date of such consent
and thereafter until such consent is revoked in
writing, notwithstanding default in the payment
of such judgment, or of any installments thereof
prescribed in Section 63-15-33, provided the
judgment debtor furnishes proof of financial
responsibility.

Miss. Code. Ann. § 63-15-33

m (2) The department shall not suspend a license
or a nonresident's operating privilege, and shall
restore any license or nonresident's operating
privilege suspended following nonpayment of a
judgment, when the judgment debtor gives
proot of financial responsibility and obtains
such an order permitting the payment of such
judgment in installments, and while the payment
of any said installment is not in default.
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Amendment of charge

Office of the Attorney General State of Mississippi
Opinion No. 2004-0435
August 27, 2004 2004 WL 2031742 (Miss.A.G.)

m A violation of Section 63-11-40 is a DUI charge and a
violation of Section 63-1-57 is a non-DUI charge.
Additionally, the charge of driving with a license

suspended under the implied consent law (Section 63-
11-40) has a more severe penalty than the charge of
driving with a license suspend for a non-implied
consent violation (Section 63-1-57). Therefore, it is the
opinion of this office that amending a charge of
violation of Section 63-11-40 to a violation of 63-1-57
when the facts of the case do not merit such an
amendment would constitute a violation of Section 63-
11-39.

Miss. Code. Ann. § 63-1-71
Suspension for Drug Conviction

m In addition to any penalty authorized by the Uniform Controlled
Substances Law or any other statute indicating the dispositions that
can be ordered for an adjudication of delinquency, every person
convicted of, or entering a plea of nolo contendere to, or adjudicated
delinquent in a court of this state for a violation of any offense
defined in the Uniform Controlled Substances Law, and every person
convicted of, or entering a plea of nolo contendere to, or adjudicated
delinquent under the laws of the United States, another state, a
territory or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia
or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico of a violation for the use,
distribution, possession, manufacture, sale, barter, transfer or

2 <¢

dispensing of a “controlled substance,” “counterfeit substance,”
“narcotic drug” or “drug,” as such terms are defined under Section
41-29-105, shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle

over the highways of this state for a period of six (6) months
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§ 63-1-55. Judge's suspension of minor's

license

m A trial judge, in his discretion, if the person so
convicted or who has entered a plea of guilty for any
traffic violation, except the offenses enumerated in
paragraphs (a) through (e) of subsection (1) of Section
63-1-51 and violations of the Implied Consent Law and
the Uniform Controlled Substances Law, is a minor and
dependent upon and subject to the care, custody and
control of his parents or guardian, may, in lieu of the
penalties otherwise provided by law and the provision
of said section, suspend such minor's driver's license by
taking and keeping same in custody of the court for a
period of time not to exceed ninety (90) days

§ 63-1-10.1. Student drivers educational
requirement noncompliance reports

m A school superintendent or designee shall report to the Department of
Education on a schedule determined by the State Board of Education
when a student under eighteen (18) years of age who has been issued a
driver's license, intermediate license or temporary learning permit has
been coded as a “drop out” as defined by the State Board of Education.
The Department of Education will provide notification to the
Department of Public Safety of those students under eighteen (18) years
of age who have obtained a driver's license, intermediate license or
temporary learning permit and have been coded by the local school
district as a “drop out” upon verification that prior written parental
consent for the release of educational records has been obtained in
compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of
1972, as amended, 20 USC Section 1232.

10
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Miss. Code. Ann. § 63-1-47

m (c) The commissioner shall suspend the driver's license,
intermediate license or regular learnet's permit of a
student under eighteen (18) years of age who has been
reported by the Department of Education as required by
Section 63-1-10.1, and shall give notice of the suspension to the
licensee as provided in Section 63-1-52(4). A school
superintendent or designee may request that the driver's license,
intermediate license or regular learnet's permit that has been
suspended under the provisions of this subsection be reinstated
after the student has successfully completed nine (9) weeks of
school attendance without an unlawful absence.

Was the suspension still in effect?

11
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State, Dep't of Pub. Safety v.

Prine, 687 So. 2d 1116, 1120 (Miss. 1996)

m |t appears that the circuit court was correct in its
determination that suspension periods pursuant
to Miss.Code Ann. § 63—11-30(2) (Supp.1987)
should run concurrently rather than

consecutively. While in another section of the
same chapter the Legislature specifically
provided for consecutive periods of suspension,

they failed to do so in § 63—11-30(2).

Was there adequate notice of the
suspension?

12
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§ 63-1-52. Notice of suspension,
cancellation, revocation

m (1) Whenever the Commissioner of Public
Safety suspends, cancels or revokes the driver's
license or driving privileges of any person,
notice of the suspension, cancellation or
revocation shall be given to such person by the
commissioner, or his duly authorized agent, in
the manner provided in subsection (2) of this
section and at the time provided in subsection
(3) of this section or in the manner and at the
time provided in subsection (4) of this section.

Manner and time of notice

(2) Notice shall be given in the following manner:

(a) In writing, (1) by United States Certificate of Mail; or (ii) by
personal service at the person's address as it appears on the
driving record maintained by the Department of Public Safety or
at the person's last known address; or (iii) by personal notice
being given by any law enforcement officer of this state or any
duly authorized agent of the Commissioner of Public Safety on
forms prescribed and furnished by the Commissioner of Public
Safety; whenever a person's driver's license or driving privileges
are suspended, revoked or cancelled in accordance with the
Mississippi Driver License Compact Law, the Mississippi
Implied Consent Law, the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety
Responsibility Law or paragraphs (2)(c

Section 63-1-53.

13
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m (b) In writing, by United States first class mail,
whenever a person's driver's license or driving

privileges are suspended, revoked or cancelled in
accordance with the Mississippi Commercial
Driver's License Law, the Youth Court Law,
Chapter 23 of Title 43 Mississippi Code of
1972, Section 63-1-45, Section 63-1-51

paragraph (2)(g), (2)(h) or (2)(1) of Section 63-1-
53 or Section 63-9-25.

(3) Notice shall be given at the following time:

(a) Before suspension, revocation or cancellation, whenever a
person's driver's license or driving privileges are suspended,
revoked or cancelled in accordance with the Mississippi Driver
License Compact Law, the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety
RCSpOﬂSibility Law or paragraph 0), (2)(d), (2)(e) or f) of Section
63-1-53.

(b) Unless otherwise specifically provided for by law, at the time
of suspension, revocation or cancellation, whenever a person's
driver's license or driving privileges are suspended, revoked or
cancelled in accordance with the Mississippi Commercial
Driver's License Law, the Mississippi Implied Consent Law, the
Youth Court Law, Chapter 23 of Title 43, Mississippi Code of 1972
Section 6! 5 )(2), 2)(h) or (2)(d) of Section 63-1-53 or
Section 63-9-25.

14
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Information Needed to Defend
DWLS

m All suspension and revocation letters DOL has sent
to your client along with any envelopes indicating
that any of the letters were returned to DOL

m A copy of your client’s address history
m An abstract of driving record (ADR)

w This and much of the material here is based on a memorandum
prepared by Magda Baker, Washington Defender Association, relying
on material by Mary Wolney, Seattle former defender lawyer.

Motions

m Invalid stop

m Inadequate notice of suspension
m Was there opportunity to be heard before the
suspension?
m Inadequate notice of charge—does the
prosecution specify which type of suspension
was involved?

15



Boyd v. State, 1998-KA-01964-COA,
(Miss. Ct. App. 2000)

® Boyd contends that he was denied rights and privileges
guaranteed to him by the Fourth Amendment of the United
States Constitution and by Section 23 of the Mississippi
Constitution of 1890 because the police officer who stopped him
lacked probable cause or even reasonable suspicion to do so. He
claims because the stop was illegal, the subsequent search and
seizure was invalid as well. Accordingly, Boyd argues that the
trial court erred in denying his motion to suppress all evidence
found inside his vehicle.

Boyd v. State, 1998-KA-01964-COA,
(Miss. Ct. App. 2000)

[The officer] stated that it was in his capacity as
court officer that he became aware that Boyd
had been convicted of driving with a suspended
license. Officer McCuan admitted that the only
reason he stopped Boyd was to check his
driver's license, and that Boyd was operating the
vehicle in a reasonable manner, committing no
traffic violations

8/21/2016
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Boyd v. State, 1998-KA-01964-COA,
(Miss. Ct. App. 2000)

m 4. All we have before us is Officer McCuan's
testimony that he knew Boyd's license had been
suspended in 1989, eight years before the traffic
stop. This does not satisfy Prouse's requirement
that an “articulable and reasonable suspicion”
exist that an individual 1s unlicensed before he
may be stopped. Consequently, the traffic stop
of Boyd was illegal, as was the subsequent search
and seizure.

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 539, 91 S. Ct. 1586,
1589, 29 L. Ed. 2d 90 (1971)
Due Process Required in Taking Away License
m Once licenses are issued, as in petitionet's case, their
continued possession may become essential in the

pursuit of a livelihood. Suspension of issued licenses
thus involves state action that adjudicates important

interests of the licensees. In such cases the licenses
are not to be taken away without that procedural
due process required by the Fourteenth
Amendment.

17
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m ...due process requires that when a State seeks to
terminate an interest such as that here involved,

it must afford ‘notice and opportunity for
hearing appropriate to the nature of the
case’ before the termination becomes
effective

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 542, 91 S. Ct. 1586,
1591, 29 L. Ed. 2d 90 (1971)

Suspension Statutes Construed
Strictly

m Operation of a motor vehicle is no longer a luxury or mere

leisure activity for the members of our society. For great many it
is an absolute necessity, one's livelihood and one's ability to
support oneself and family often depending upon it. While no
member of this Court doubts the necessity of effective action to

reduce the carnage incident upon drunk driving, we regard any
statute for suspension or revocation of driving
privileges as penal in nature and effect. Such statutes
should be construed strictly though reasonably against
infliction of the penalty.

State v. Martin, 495 So. 2d 501, 502 (Miss. 1986)

18
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Statute requires notice

® we hold that Section 63-11-23(2) requires that, before the license
of one subject to that subsection is effectively suspended, the
Commissioner of Public Safety or his authorized agent must take
two steps. First, in the appropriate administrative manner, he
must take the affirmative step of suspending that person's license
or permit to drive and, second, he must giVC the driver
notice of the suspension by registered or certified mail
as provided in Subsection (1). The notice will be deemed
given when deposited in the United States Mail, propetly
addressed.

State v. Martin, 495 So. 2d 501, 502-03 (Miss. 19806)

Useful authority from Washington

m is well settled that driver's licenses may not be suspended or
revoked “ ‘without that procedural due process required by the

29

Fourteenth Amendment.” ” ....An important corollary to this

rule is that a driver cannot be convicted of driving while
his or her license is suspended or revoked if the
suspension or revocation violates due process. State ».
Dolson, 138 Wash.2d 773, 783, 982 P.2d 100 (1999). Though the
procedures may vary according to the interest at stake, “[t]he
fundamental requirement of due process is the opportunity to be
heard ‘at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.” ”
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 333, ...(quoting Amustrong v.
Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552, 85 S.Ct. 1187, 14 L.Ed.2d 62 (1965)).

City of Redmond v. Moore, 151 Wash. 2d 664, 670, 91 P.3d 875,
878-79 (2004)

19
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What if letter with notice of suspension
was returned by post office?

m Before a State may take property and sell it for unpaid taxes, the
Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment requires the
government to provide the owner “notice and opportunity for
hearing appropriate to the nature of the case.” Mullane v. Central
Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313, 70 S.Ct. 652, 94
L.Ed. 865 (1950). We granted certiorari to determine whether,
when notice of a tax sale is mailed to the owner and
returned undelivered, the government must take
additional reasonable steps to provide notice

before taking the ownet's property.
g property

Jones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220, 223, 126 S. Ct. 1708, 1712, 164 L. Ed. 2d 415
(2006)

Additional reasonable steps

We hold that when mailed notice of a tax sale is
returned unclaimed, the State must take
additional reasonable steps to attempt to provide
notice to the property owner before selling his
property, if it is practicable to do so.

[ones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220, 225, 126 S. Ct.
1708, 1713, 164 L. Ed. 2d 415 (20006)

20
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State cannot shrug shoulders

m If the Commissioner prepared a stack of letters
to mail to delinquent taxpayers, handed them to
the postman, and then watched as the departing
postman accidentally dropped the letters down a
storm drain, one would certainly expect the
Commissionet's office to prepare a new stack of
letters and send them again. No one “desirous
of actually informing” the owners would simply
shrug his shoulders as the letters disappeared
and say “I tried.”

Attempt to resend it

m By the same token, when a letter is returned by
the post office, the sender will ordinarily attempt
to resend it, if it is practicable to do so

[ones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220, 230, 126 S. Ct.
1708, 1716, 164 L. Ed. 2d 415 (20006)

21



8/21/2016

Failure to specify type of
suspension

m Repeatedly this Court has held that an indictment based
upon a statutory offense must charge all of the
essential elements of the statutory crime
and is void for failure to do so.

Spears v. State, 253 Miss. 108, 116, 175 So. 2d 158, 16162
(1965)

Thomas v. State, 126 So.3d 877 (Miss. 2013)

m The familiar constitutional right to notice of
criminal charges is guarded by both the state and
tfederal bill of rights. U.S. Const. amend. VI (“In
all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right ... to be informed of the nature and
cause of the accusation.”); Miss. Const. art. 3, §
26 (“In all criminal prosecutions the accused
shall have a right ... to demand the nature and
cause of the accusation.”).

22
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Policy Change—Decriminalize
DWLS

m We conclude that it is unacceptable for society to
punish a person for his/her poverty, and, therefore,
revocation [of] a driver's license for nonpayment
of fines should never be an option for any state.

John B. Mitchell & Kelly Kunsch, Of Drivet's Licenses
and Debtot's Prison, 4 Seattle J. for Soc. Just. 439, 444
(2005)

Debtor’s prison

m Using revocation to collect revenue is the
functional heir of the debtot's prison. Most low-
income individuals need to drive to continue
working. But if they continue to drive, they will
go to jail, avoidable only by paying the monies
owed—monies they do not have.

John B. Mitchell & Kelly Kunsch, Of Driver's
Licenses and Debtot's Prison, 4 Seattle . for
Soc. Just. 439, 470-71 (2005)
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pate of Birth 02/10/1993
F

face B

eight 506

veight 110

ye Color BRO

air Color BLK

hrresting Agency |03

rest Date [ 12/21/2015

Fharge 1

VIOLATE TRAFFIC ORDINANCE

Felony / Misdemeanor

# BONDCO

[varrant #

[harge 2

[SEATBELT VIOLATION

Felony / Misdemeanor

ndictment # BONDCO

[varrant #

[harge 3

[NO DRIVERS LICENSE

Felony / Misdemeanor

ndictment # BONDCO

Varrant #

[harge 4

INO INSURANCE

Felony / Misdemeanor

ndictment # BONDCO

[varrant #

Monday, April 11, 2016

Back

Contact Webmas]

Hinds County

FOUNDED 1821 * POPULATION 248,643

Examples of Jail
for Minor Crimes

Date of Birth 04/20/1987
Sex M

Race B

Height 509
Weight 135

Eye Color BRO

Hair Color BLK

Arresting Agency B
Arrest Date | 04/05/2016
Charge 1

VIOLATE TRAFFIC ORDINANCE
Felony / Misdemeanor
Indictment # RORJ
Warrant #

Charge 2

CONTEMPT OF COURT
Felony / Mi or
Indictment # PLAN
Warrant #

Charge 3

VIOLATION OF PROB
Felony / Misds \Or
Indictment #
Warrant #
Charge 4

Felony / Misds
Indictment #
Warrant #

Date oF Birth 04/18/1983 m
Sex M
Race B B "
: JRace w
Height 507 |Height 511
Weight 200 Jweight 220
Eye Color BRO JEye Color BRO
Hair Color BLK JHair Color BRO
Arresting Agency HCSO Arresting Agency HCSO
Arrest Date 02/02/2016 Arrest Date 01/21/2016
Charge 1 Charge 1

POSS OF MARDJUANA

CONTEMPT OF COURT

Felony / Misdemeanor

JFelony / Misdemeanor

Indictment # Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 2 Charge 2

SUSPENDED DRI LIC

Felony / Misdemeanor

|Felony / Misdemeanor

Indictment # Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 3 Charge 3
RESISTING ARREST
Felony / Misdemeanor Felony / Misdemeanor
Indictment # Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 4 Charge 4
NO TAG = e
- ony / Misdemeanor

Feic.)ny / Misdemeanor e e
I\:dnctme;t # T

arrant RS
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Questions and D

Date of Birth 05/08/1987 R —
Sex M ISex M
Race B Race B
Height 511 Height 602
Weight 135 Weight 185
Eye Color BRO Eye Color BRO
Hair Color BRO Hair Color GRY
Arresting Agency 03 Arresting Agency 03
Arrest Date 03/10/2016 Arrest Date 04/08/2016
Charge 1 Charge 1
POSS OF MARDJUANA CONTEMPT OF COURT
Felony / Misdemeanor Felony / Misdemeanor
Indictment # Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 2 Charge 2
CONTEMPT OF COURT DRIVING WHILE LIC CAN/SUS/REV
Felony / Misdemeanor Felony / Misdemeanor
Indictment # PLAN Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 3 Charge 3
CONTEMPT OF COURT
Felony / Misdemeanor Felony / Misdemeanor
Indictment # PLAN Indictment #
Warrant # Warrant #
Charge 4 Charge 4
CONTEMPT OF COURT -
Felony / Misdemeanor Fel?"” Misdemeanor
Indictment # PLAN Indicoment &
Warrant #
| IWarrant #

scussion of

DWS Cases in Mississippi
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